Close

We use cookies. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

FAQ Login

AquaRank.com
The Fish Tank Forum is no longer allowing posting of any kind or new members to register.
All visitors can still join the group discussion which has been moved to Facebook.
Fish Tank Forum will be remaining here for reference purposes only.

I just want to say thank you to everyone who took part in the forum over the years and I hope to see you all on our Facebook group.

Red Sea Max

New to saltwater or still thinking of moving onto it.

Red Sea Max

Postby bluedolphin » Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:07 pm

Hi, newbie here.
We have a second hand red sea max 130 with an extra external v power filter. my question is can I remove the ceramic media from under the internal pumps and will this harm my tanks filtration.
I know that these are an integral part of the filtration. But as this tank came with the external v power with 4 baskets for different types of media. I don't see the need for them (I can understand why the original owner decided on the external, as the internal media is a pain to get out for cleaning, as they sit under two powerheads which have to be removed.

We decided to remove them because we were told that it may be the bag of ceramic that was causing the power heads to expel tiny bubbles.

More questions later :-):
Thanks
bluedolphin

Re: Red Sea Max

Postby malakye » Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:22 pm

They will be fine to remove from the internal.
With the external if it has sponges either clean these every few days or remove them as they can add nitrates into the tank which you do not want.
malakye
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby bluedolphin » Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:26 pm